jump to navigation

New Beginnings November 20, 2006

Posted by Karen Elizabeth in Felting, FO's, Knitting, WIP's.
trackback

I was very sad to discover this weekend that one of my favoit LYS had closed. I was on the search for some black, feltable yarn to make myself a litle cloche. I went out to my two favorit yarn stores, to discover one had been turned into a quiliting store! I was so sad, it carried my favorit brand of circular needles and had some very nice yarn (Cascade, Debbie Bliss, the list could go on..). However, I finnaly got a chance to go out to a new LYS that has thaken the place of the one I just lost.

It is amazing. One wall of Cascade 220 in a rainbow of colours. Plus Koigue(spelt wrong I’m sure, but this is the first place that I have found to carry it!) Plus Lorna’s lace, Debbie Bliss and much more! I also saw roving, lots of books and self-dyeing kits!! I could only spend a few moments there getting my yarn, but I can’t wait to go and spend hours there. Plus, they wind your yarn while you wait in the line to pay!

So far, so good for knitting. I finnished that blue scarf, and have decided to keep it. It looks nice with my red coat and is very warm. I also started the I Live On A Farm hat, but I don’t think I will do the optional band, I love the look of seed stitch! And the little white scarf is on hold, because I found an adorable cloche hat pattern on Craftster saturday night, which lead me on my yarn hunt. It is in the washing machine at the moment, and I really hope it works about because it looked a bit small to be felted………. oh well I have plenty of yarn if I need to make a bigger one. I’m always nervous when I felt things but I love felting.

jupiterjessica, the pattern for the Hermione hat can be found here:
http://knit.atypically.net/hats/hermione/

Isn’t it beautiful? There is also a matching mitten pattern! I just love Harry Potter knits 🙂

Well that’s all for now, I will update you about the hat and will add pictures of my two recent FO’s.

~K~

Comments»

1. jupiterjessica - December 2, 2006

It sounds like your new LYS rocks!! That’s a bummer that your old one closed but at least you have another around to go to! Thanks for the link to the hat. I’ll have to try it when I’m done with my xmas knitting! You will have to post pics of yours when you’re done! Have a great weekend!!


Leave a Reply

